Classes

ALRR offers courses for Assisted Living Professionals

Why should I take these classes?


Stay on top of updates and proposed changes to regulations. Attend the sessions to learn about changes to the regulations, legislative changes, and what the State is planning to change. Jeanoyce monitors changes and is actively involved in the revision of the State’s assisted living regulations. She attends the State’s meetings, reviews proposed changes, analyzes proposed legislation, and testifies as needed to impact these rules. She serves on State stakeholders’ work groups, served on a legislatively-mandated statewide work group, and is active with the provider associations. Industry trends are thoroughly discussed to help providers prepare for the future.

Continuing Education
Managers who need the annual 12-hours of continuing education credit should take Session-CE to complete the requirement at one seminar.

State surveys
If you need help preparing for your State survey, these classes are for you! Course content covers helpful information on the survey process and on working with State surveyors.

New to the industry? 
These classes will help you understand the licensing process and prepare for State surveys. New managers and/or owners will hear helpful hints for navigating the licensing process.

Need help with your facility census? 
Our marketing hints and trends may help you pursue new avenues to fill your building.

Social Workers
Classes are now approved for licensed social workers.

[Pre-approved Provider #5128-Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners. Contact info. http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/socialwork]

Session Information


ALRR offers courses in three different sessions.
To see which sessions you might need to meet a certification requirement, see our Certifications page.

Session Contents
Session I — 8-hour training on the Texas licensing standards. This course includes updates and proposed changes to the licensing standards. Legislative changes are also covered.

Session II — 16-hour training on management of assisted living facilities. This course covers the State’s required content for management training. Training topics include: resident characteristics (including dementia), resident assessment and skills working with residents; basic principles of management; food and nutrition services; federal laws, with an emphasis on the Americans with Disabilities Act’s accessibility requirements; community resources; ethics, and financial management.

Session-CE (continuing education session) — 12-hour continuing education seminar. Managers who only need the annual 12 hours of continuing education should attend Session-CE. Session-CE includes the 8-hour regulations class (Session I) and four hours from Session II (the management course). Combining the eight-hour course and attending from 8 a.m. until 12 noon the following day gives managers the 12 hours of continuing education they need to satisfy the State’s annual requirement. In addition to reviewing the licensing standards, hearing about updates and legislative changes, topics may include: emergency preparedness, resident characteristics, Alzheimer’s disease, managing disruptive behavior, marketing tips, and abuse/neglect/exploitation.

Session Hours
Day 1 (Session I) = 8 clock hours
Days 1 & 2 (Session CE) = 12 clock hours
Days 2 & 3 (Session II) = 16 clock hours
Days 1, 2, & 3 (Sessions I & II) = 24 clock hours

Pricing Information

Pre-Registration: 
Session I - $140 
Session II $235
Session CE $220

At the door:
Session I - $185
Session II - $285
Session CE - $295

NOTE: Total pre-registration cost for the 24-hour certification course (Sessions I and II together) is $375.

Important Information

Class hours
Arrive at 7:30 AM
Registration: 7:30 AM -8 AM
Classes: 8 AM -5 PM

Refunds and Cancellations
For refunds, cancellation must be made at least two weeks prior to the classes. In lieu of a refund, the fee may be applied to another scheduled seminar. Payment is due with the registration. In the unlikely event a seminar is cancelled, fees may be applied to another seminar or may be refunded. (Attendees must be present for the entire session to receive their certificate.)

Accessbility
Some conference rooms may be accessible via stairs. If you require special assistance, please advise ALRR, Inc. staff prior to the scheduled seminar.

Student Standards
ALRR, Inc. reserves the right to refuse to issue a certificate when an attendee does not satisfactorily complete the course. This may include such reasons as failure to attend the entire session; failure to comprehend the course content, based upon a written test, when a test is given.

Cancellations and Returned Checks
$25 cancellation fee
$35 fee for returned checks & “stop payment” checks